Ode, To Keaton Simons

25 Mar

Some people sigh that the depth of the eye is the deep of the soul’s affair
I’m prone to believe that children conceive of a freedom to fly through the air
He was barefoot and shirtless, happy and hurtless, a few years away from his teens
Like the brave we adore, like a wave hits a shore, he suffered my horrible scenes

And every while that he’s turned with a smile to transmit a welcoming word
I let go the wrong he undoes with his song, and the beautiful calling he’s heard
And some have a song that will not be long, come the hammering bell of the blue
And some have a song, so sweet and so strong, that they sing it their whole life through

He plays a guitar that was touched by a star;
His grandfather’s old antique
His only pose is a question that knows
And a smile that is willing to seek
He helps me to see how the truth sets me free
And that is his only mystique
He fashions his phrase with a love that he plays
And that’s how he learned to speak

And years can deceive, but I’m prone to believe he’s still flying inside like a child
His grip on his gift is a spiritual lift and a magic that drives me wild
I see some of me, what I wanted to be, and trust that he’ll handle the road
And hear such a voice that has almost no choice but to sing, and it lightens my load

©2005 brent david fraser, all rights reserved

One Response to “Ode, To Keaton Simons”

  1. Kaylie March 3, 2007 at 4:27 am #

    Brent, your words are very beautiful. I enjoyed reading this poem. It expresses the innocence and vulnerability of this individual so well. I can almost picture him in my mind. “He was barefoot and shirtless, happy and hurtless. . . ” wonderful!. “And some have a song, so sweet and so strong, that they sing it their whole life through. . .” I love those words too.

    I am looking forward to reading more of your work. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

