A Night For Poets

5 Dec

outside the door the dogs are barking
and overhead the sky is dark
I know that you can see me dreaming
it took so long to get to where we are

and in the wind I feel you breathing
and all the stars outline your faces
I know that you can hear me laughing
in all your far off other places

come morning I’ll be in the kitchen
coffee, and a cigarette burning fast
I know the world, she just keeps turning
another night for poets passed

and when I find your far away freedom
or stumble across your bed of nails
or hear you whispering when I’m sleeping
please don’t spare me sad details

for all your words I’ll waste my money
and emulate your wicked ways
and struggle for the purest heartbeat
and pass the same in dying days

come morning I’ll be slowly waking
I knew the night could never last
day by day the world , she just keeps taking
another night for poets passed

one morning I will sleep forever
into the great void I’ll be cast
far from the world we’ll sing this song together
another night for poets passed

© 1990-2010 brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

