‘Round The Bend

21 Jan

In a sea of funny faces, in and out of misfit places,
I think that I’ve gone ‘round the bend,
Laid to waste another weekend, and I thought that I’d find peace and
Still I think I’ve gone ‘round the bend.

And though the sky at night is not a friend of mine,
And this sea of funny faces cries,
I’ll wander misfit places looking for a friend,
And still I think that I’ve gone ‘round the bend.

Like a shadow slowly creeping, came to me while I was sleeping,
And it followed me around the bend.
Took my dreams and my possessions, showed me they were my confessions,
Now I know that I’ve gone ‘round the bend.

Save the night for walking with my pride,
Save your damned opinions, too,
Because I know, I know that I pretend
That I’m not going round the bend.

Among the statues I stand naked, and I will admit I faked it,
All the while I was going ‘round the bend.
And if you think I’m laughing, yes I am, and if you think I might be crying,
Doesn’t matter, I’ve gone round the bend.

And if you see the statues following me home,
Don’t be surprised I’m not with them,
They seem to emulate me, they seem to intend,
To follow me, endlessly, ‘round the bend.

© 1993-2010 Billy Burke and Brent David Fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

