Cheap Disguise

31 Dec

Why such a blue expression?
This cover by this careless hand?
A hundred faces, all are me
Some are scared of darkness, some are magical and grand,
They all conceal a part of me

And each one has a name, excels at his own game,
And waits for God to move the world along…

Hey am I okay? what should I say?
That all the day I just go dreaming on?
Hey am I alright? I cry at night
And I laugh to hide my eyes,
Because I thought I was so wise,
And my tears are just another cheap disguise

Why such a cold confusion?
A sly perversion brings this pain
No truth is ever brought to light,
No moral courage in me can change what all my sins be
No guiding principle can make me clean tonight

So I pray and play til dawn, and curse this trip I’m on
With leaky faucet eyes that need to run…

Hey am I okay? what should I say?
That all the day I just go dreaming on?
Hey am I alright? I cry at night
And I laugh to hide my eyes,
Because I thought I was so wise,
And my tears are just another cheap disguise

©2005 Brent David Fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

