Alone This Friday

4 Jan

i’ll go on my way now,
everyone knows how late it’s gotten,
coming daylight has a rotten greeting in store,
when she comes
i’ll pick up my bar room passions, like the change that’s sitting here,
wipe off my cartoon brow, and all the pains i soaked with beer,
and if i’m still alive to hear the paperboy ring,
i’ll still be on my own with the same old song to sing,
i sing that same old song,
the down and out,
without a doubt,
alone this friday blues
i’ll go on my way now,
thumbing through this humanity
satisfied my vanity, my shelter is a hat
that cheats the rain
i’ll pick up my bar room laughter, like a travelling back pack,
choke down the gloomy aftertaste, but i’ll be coming back,
and if i’m still alive to see what morning doesn’t bring,
i’ll still be on my own, with the same old song to sing,
i sing that same old song,
the down and out,
without a doubt,
alone this friday blues
and if i’m still alive when misery makes me her king,
i’ll still be on my own, with the same old song to sing,
i sing that same old song,
the down and out,
without a doubt,
alone this friday blues

Copyright 1989-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

