Endlessly Rockin’

4 Jan

the sea says my name as I see you tonight, and while we are living sane are merely alive

in every man’s eye, out on every dark shore, I can see my reflection passing through every door

make me a rich man or a beggar come knocking, i’m out of the cradle endlessly rocking

I sing it with pleasure and I treasure each note, as my spirit floats up from my heart to my throat

my religion is life,  my salvation is love, all my gifts have come to me from some dog above

bring me to where Satan and Jesus are talking, i’m out of the cradle endlessly rocking

I write with the body what my soul will tell, from the pleasures of heaven to the dark pains of hell

if Whitman is listening for I know he’s around, it’s Albion Moonlight that’s making this sound

so find me a maiden in a silken black stocking, i’m out of the cradle endlessly rocking

and touch me with wisdom or fool-hearty mocking, i’m out of the cradle endlessly rocking

May 18, 1992 Copyright 1992-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

