Love Ends Too Soon

4 Jan

the morning sky’ s been on my mind since seven

the pretty bottles from last night are dry

I dreamed of taking a bus ride up to heaven

dripping candles light the room

waiting for the spring to bloom

and love, yes I guess it ends too soon

I never should have left my mother’s womb

and love, yes I guess it ends too soon

on the roads outside of town I wander

drunk in my religion to be alone

they say that absence makes the heart grow fonder

my empty pockets I assume

are cause I bought up all impending doom

and love, yes I guess it ends too soon

another bad investment I presume

and love, yes I guess it ends too soon

opening a lovely wine this evening

sip it slowly and savor gracefully

the whole thing just gets worse its quickly deepening

I’ll forget that sweet perfume

the more and more that I consume

and love yes I guess it ends too soon

story of a lost and laughing groom

and love, yes I guess it ends too soon

November 20, 1990 Copyright 1990-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

