I’ll Get By

4 Jan

Hey Mister, could you give me a ride, I like how you fly up there, so high

I wouldn’t ask, but since you did invite

I know I’ll do my share of the chores, but some people find me a little course

And then imperceptibly, they plan for the divorce

So is it a handshake, or a slap on the back you prefer?

We could be friends, but it demands more than business would incur

I don’t care what you say or do, actions tell who’s really who

You think I’ll know you better with time? I don’t think you think I’m ‘your kind’

But hey Mister, I’ll get by, hey, Mister, I’ll get by

Glad that I asked for the ride,

Now you don’t want to see me cry

Hey, Mister, I’ll get by

I may be more than you want to know, and probably more than you want me to show

Fellows are usually confused by where I go

If it’s one color that you want to see, you’re probably blinded looking at me

And I can’t imagine we’ll find much on which to agree

But I’ve got your number; it’s been a long time in my mind

I know the privacy issues and big cigars you hide ‘em behind

I don’t care what you say or do, actions tell who’s really who

You think I’ll know you better with time? I don’t think you think I’m ‘your kind’

But hey, Mister, I’ll get by

Hey, Mister, I’ll get by

Glad that I asked for the ride,

Now you don’t want to see me cry

Hey Mister, I’ll get by

October 15, 1999 Copyright 1999-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

