Leave A Light On

4 Jan

I might be back this evening, or tumble in with the dawn

I know the face you’ll wear when I come in

I’m the source of such a fury, your hatred’s hard to bear

for tonight could we forget where I have been, when I come home

weary from wondering, awake by the thundering in my heart

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

please don’t send me away

I pray for a bright and a brand new day

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

I know that I’ll be wretched, I know the way I’ll look

I’ll smell like the devil, so foolishly lost

praying that you still love me, though I’ll be at my worst

for tonight could we forget the emotional cost, when I come home

buzzing and bleeding, my conscience receding to its grave

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

please don’t send me away

I pray for a bright and a brand new day

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

someday I’ll do better, I won’t make you cry

I’ll inspire you to endless laughing joy

so please don’t deny me your shining moon-full breast

for tonight don’t forget I’m your only baby boy, when I come home

loving the lightning, your world is brightening my blue soul

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

please don’t send me away

I pray for a bright and a brand new day

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

wishing and wanting, your world is haunting my sad heart

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

please don’t send me away

I pray for a bright and a brand new day

oh, mama, leave a light on for me

March 8, 1993 Copyright 1993-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

