Lord

4 Jan

I found another place to put my passions

if only for a night until morning shines

a heavy make-up drunken cheap replacement

to hold me until I leave this night behind

lord it might be hard to reach me now

sometimes it hurts to try to smile

I’ll drop a line if I can find the time

lord I’ll be busy for a while

I’d brave the night alone if I were crazier

pull my collar tight against the cold

drop my feat to steps I’ve laid before me

but I’m not growing only growing old

lord I guess I’ve gone astray for now

sometimes I’m sadly juvenile

don’t try to call I wont be home at all

lord I’ll be busy for a while

makes no sense pretending I’m surprised lord

we both knew I’d only give so much

it seems I’m always planning for an ending

but lord if you can hear me keep in touch

lord forgive me but it’s over now

sometimes it’s hard to reconcile

so now you see you much watch over me

lord I’ll be busy for a while

April 2, 1990 Copyright 1990-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

