Mister Robin Hood

4 Jan

Around about a quarter to three in the morning

Just a few hours that sun’s going to come a dawning

I don’t want, I don’t need, I don’t care anyway

Can’t pay the rent, going to be boxed up and sent

To heaven if I’m lucky today

There’s a paperboy delivering all of the bad news

It’d take a resurrection to bring this world some good

I’m just waiting for the merry men to come and help me out today

There’s a traveling band of thieves in the neighborhood

They’re taking from the rich and giving to the poor

So they’ve go to come a knocking on my door

Come on hurry it up Mr. Robin Hood

I ain’t got all night Mr. Robin Hood

I ain’t go much time Mr. Robin Hood

I ain’t got but one can of food in the kitchen

And one little last shot of whisky to help with the bitching

I won’t eat, I won’t sleep, I won’t last through the night

Can’t get to sleep, too many thoughts that I keep

In my head that I’ve still go to fight

There’s a woman crying that the sheriff locked up her husband

It’s a lonely paddy wagon ride down to the jail

And the merry men are just following him to make sure he’s all right

The traveling band of thieves are going to put up the bail

I swear my soul is leaving, lord I can feel it

I’m afraid that the devil he’s going to come and steal it

I hope that, I pray that, that ain’t the way it will be

May sound funny but the power of money’s

Got a lot more power than me

And there’s a Chinese proverb says that I got what I wanted

And I always heard that you get what you deserve

If those merry men ain’t coming then I’ll curse this whole damn night

That traveling band of thieves got a whole lot of nerve

February 8, 1991 Copyright 1991-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

