Nothing To Lose

4 Jan

at twenty-seven stories tall

intoxicated, blindfolded to all

I dance my routine like a doll

and only think of falling if I fall

testing death won’t make a man

I live the only way I can

if I decide that I am in a dead man’s shoes

then I’ve got nothing to lose

you can do anything you choose

when you’ve got nothing to loose

I carelessly light a cigarette

this roof is gasoline and sweat

my friend, it hasn’t burned me yet

until it does I cannot have regret

tempting fate won’t make a man

I live the only way I can

if I decide that I am in a dead man’s shoes

then I’ve got nothing to lose

you can do anything you choose

when you’ve got nothing to loose

to be a man is hard, I try

sometimes I hide inside and cry

and one day I might even fly

but a man worthy of honor the muses forbid to die

testing death won’t make a man

I live the only way I can

if I decide that I am in a dead man’s shoes

then I’ve got nothing to lose

you can do anything you choose

when you’ve got nothing to loose

February 3, 1993 Copyright 1993-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

