Shine

4 Jan

my watch is broken and

I don’t know how long I’ve been waiting for you

and my soggy clothes to dry

I guess it rain all day

and I don’t know enough

to get inside and cheat the brutal storm

I tried to get warm enough to weather it

and cold enough to suffer while I

picture in my mind the way your face will come to me

I’ll turn my dripping head to beat the wind

and from the fog you are revealed

like a flower on the vine and how you shine

how you shine

how you shine

I smoked the cigarettes

I stole from Judas and I

thought I’d have a drink but thought again

I watched the sun go down

across the water and the

crescent moon has come up better yet

and you can bet that I would lose if

I make room in me for booze and such

and I will tame the monster yes and I will hope to see

bridge: how can I make this last

will I repeat my past

I’ll turn my dripping head to beat the wind

and from the fog you are revealed

like a flower on the vine and how you shine

I see you’ve torn your dress

but you’re still a princess, better than an old magician

turning water into wine and how you shine

how you shine

how you shine

May 30, 1996 Copyright 1996-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

