King, For Elvis Aaron Presley

10 Jan

Royalty has died, I’m looking

for an idol of years gone by

A ghost from decades past,

drenched in sweat, in my sleep I hear him cry

The broken tunes of heartfelt dreams,

pulling up the flower by the root

Honesty has drowned in this swill,

here’s a song, give me all my loot

But guitar man can you play that song

You know the one I want, have you forgotten

A king played it years ago, with all his heart and his soul

And then they bought him

Six string dream, a handful of queens,

owned by a man in a hat, from south of who knows where

Many tell me now that they are next in line

for the throne that he left there

But where is the heart and where is the soul

that’re absent from the melodies today

Songs come off a production line and

if you want it boy, you’re going to have to pay

January 8, 1986 Copyright 1986-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

