My Mortality

13 Feb

I run with strength in every stride
pushed by desire and by pride
and how my soul wants to succeed
but I wont let him meet his need

no love inside of me can die
but feeding it is pain to try
no life can ever die in me
yet I’m damned by my mortality
yet I’m damned by my mortality
I am without sentimentality
I’m damned by my mortality

the soul that lives inside of me
sees further than I’ll ever see
and him I honor and respect
yet I’m the source of his neglect

bridge:    I’ll sound a message with my words
to bless the child and feed the herds
my soul he knows what I’m without
despite my self I’ll force it out
he has barely any room to live
though space I guess is relative
were I a valley or a sea
he might be happier with me

May 13, 1992 ©1992-2010 brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

