My Vanity

24 Nov

I watch today’s time run out
into a midnight dirge
I hold it in my hand and rest it
poised upon the verge of mere beginning

from birth to death my holy breath
is unaware of reason
my life lives me until i free
the death of every season in my sinning

I speak of visions seen
a frenzied fire, a tragic dream
it burns away reality
to alter what is deemed as human terror

the moments missed are full of blissful
cricket’s song of old
the moments had are truly sad
or, that’s what I’ve been told by human error

March 12, 1986

©1986-2011 Stratherrick Publishers (ASCAP) all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

