My Entrance to the Fray

4 May

As a wee one I was shaped and hewn by my elders, my heroes, giving me the soothing, gutsy tales of our forebears, spilled out on chilling drizzly nights by wood-fire warmth with great care. I was handed the thrilling, inspiring tellings of Clan life in our wet homeland in the Highlands of old Alba, ancient name of Scotland. This brought up in me a feeling so fond for that life played out under the watery awning of the spirits as I’ve seen in few shrewd others. Sooner than I could speak I was gripped with a passion for my blood home, and there was awakened, rather, brought to the fore in me a bond to it with which I entered this fray. I have never not felt its beat at my base, beyond every veil; that stamp that blessed and built me with a rich, rare sense of place, unknown to many…
I would come to have to fight to recover the loss of it, in a life I
will have scattered far from it, for whys I couldn’t catch or comprehend until this late in the game. I’ve battled with reckless bravado, sincere audacity & been carried to humility. I’m fueled by my heart’s core vision of a grail still waiting in a higher victory.
“It is in truth not for glory, nor riches, nor honours that I am fighting, but for freedom – for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself”. (-Declaration of Arbroath, 1320)

-BDF

Leave a Reply

