Pride In Reverse (Still A Wonder)

11 Nov

BDF18

Guess I waited far too long to break away this time

To stand alone to stand alive and free

For all my errors when I choose terrors of the heart it’s not a crime

It simply doesn’t ease the misery

I court these demons constantly to let me know that I’m alive,

It’s still a wonder I survive

And in and out of darkness I dance, that my light will revive

It’s still a wonder I survive

All my life is a maze in a daze of following fears around

It’s endless but it’s hopeless to resist

They come everyday to haunt me and prey on what happiness I’ve

Found a fear dies hard alive it will persist

I court these demons constantly to let me know that I’m alive,

It’s still a wonder I survive

And in and out of darkness I dance, that my light will revive

It’s still a wonder I survive

Since I can remember, I’ve chosen these faces for filling up my mind

I’m colored by all of the memories, but: I’m still here

Drowning in bars and boasting of scars and clutching to any unkind

For if I let them go I feel death is very near

I court these demons constantly to let me know that I’m alive,

It’s still a wonder I survive

And in and out of darkness I dance, that my light will revive

It’s still a wonder I survive

December 28, 1990

©Copyright 1990-2014 Brent David Fraser, Stratherrick Publishers, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

