Great Fates, for My Wife, Angela McDonald Fraser

28 Oct

I played and prayed for a hand till she drew her gaze onto me

She’d seen me sitting, my praying befitting a chump like me

She won all the time but played for the dealer’s smile

Old man deal the cards, I said, get her to stay a while
, get her a permanent seat

God started to deal, she said she could feel this would be the luckiest hand all around

With all aces cheap and two cowboys deep, I played to win went all in and threw down

She said hey mister right if its aces all night
, I trust you wont break this heart that you take

Oh these great fates sometimes they bring us to weep

But I’ll let you sing me to sleep

Now come sing me to sleep

Pale shades of pink lighted eyes that saw behind the hand I held

Naked, I swore that nobody before saw, but she could tell

When I gave up the bluff, I saw the dealer smile

Old man deal the cards, she said, I want to stay a while
, I want this permanent seat

God started to deal, she said she could feel this
 would be the luckiest hand all around

With all aces cheap and two cowboys deep
, I played to win went all in and threw down

She said hey mister right if its aces all night
, I trust you wont break this heart that you take

Oh these great fates sometimes they bring us to weep

But I’ll let you sing me to sleep

Now come sing me to sleep

©2015 brent david fraser, Stratherrick Publishers, all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

