Behind The Song


stare in the mirror I see my face, seeking a shred of truth a trace

of where myself could truly be, other than living in this body

I’m not only who you see standing here and though I question it’s very clear

there’s a me that sings along, there’s a me behind the song

deep within the melody, where my soul is singing free

no tick or talk of time, no reason to the wrym

all vanished in the sound, and I’m not touching the ground

every word I say, every note I play

I am here behind the song

living in the breath, giving it to death

I am here behind the song

picture it all as a roaring sea, drowning the picture of you and me

washing away the boundaries, no more divided realities

all of it all into one in joy, union in every girl and boy

in everything as we sing along, all of us living behind the song

b section

chorus

bridge: where you see life’s ecstasy,

closer yet you come to me

where you see god’s mystery

closer yet you come to me

and I see me thinking I’m so bloody aware

and I see me thinking I’m the only one here

but no I’m not the only one here

chorus out

April 23, 1996 Copyright 1996-2010, brent david fraser, all rights reserved

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.